The charity supporting Agape House
and hospice care in Bermuda

Our People

Friends of Hospice is supported by four full-time employees, one part-time employee, a professional Board of Directors, and hundreds of volunteers.

Executive Director: Jennifer Mahoney joined the Friends of Hospice team in May 2019, and brings significant experience in many areas including marketing and operations. Jennifer worked in the not-for-profit sector for three years as an Executive Director before joining us and possesses more than 15 years of management experience. She believes that we should all strive to live our best lives and is dedicated to ensuring that both patients and their families are given the opportunity to do so.

Programme Manager: Emily Sousa, MTA, RP, NMT-F joined the team in  January 2020, and brings with her unlimited enthusiasm and a calming, gentle nature that puts everyone at ease. She is responsible for the programming and implementation of our Day Hospice programme and manages the recruitment and training of our wonderful volunteers. Emily is Bermuda's only practicing Certified Music Therapist, Grief Counsellor, and Registered Psychotherapist. She provides Music Therapy services to Day Hospice participants, resident patients and their family members at Agape House. Emily also provides and organizes external support services following the death of an Agape House patient.

Chef: John Lema joined us in July 2020 and has quickly become a favourite among patients with his unique meals and personality. John is a professional chef, having graduated with Merit from the culinary arts programme at Bermuda College possessing more than twenty years of experience in the food service industry. He has had the opportunity to compete at the international level at the Jeunes Commis competition in Adelaide Australia on behalf of the Confrerie de la Chaine des Rotisseurs took home the regional title. John gives back to the community by serving in the Bermuda Regiment and has done so since 2002.



Board of Directors 2022

  • Alison Soares, Chairman
  • Tom McMahon, Deputy Chairman
  • Janice Bucci, Treasurer
  • Jane Bermingham
  • Corey Cross
  • Mark Darko
  • Bernard Opoku
  • Zach Moniz
  • Laura Ruse
  • Sakina Darrell
  • Judy Kitson
  • April Gosling Naude